With the restoration of the multi-party democracy in the country, in 1990 A.D., extensive reforms were made in the organizational structure of the Ministry of Home Affairs. The Zonal administration with its commissioner was dissolved. Endeavours are being made to re-structure the Home administration with a view to strengthening multi-party parliamentary system. The CDO has been empowered with necessary authority to maintain law and order in the respective districts and he has also been made responsible to act as the representative of the central Government. The jurisdiction of the Home Ministry has been defined by Nepal Government’s (Work Division) Regulation, 1996 A.D. There are 4 Divisions, 5 Departments, 5 Regional Administration Offices, 75 District Administration Offices, 75 District Police Offices and 73 prisons under this ministry. In addition, field offices have also been established in order to carry out the various functions assigned to this ministry.

Additional Info

Opening daysSun-Fri


Leave a Reply

thirteen − 12 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.